EXCITING UPDATE: The “Trans-natal fun run” and a very worthy cause


25 May 2012 (9 days to go)

Hi again,

Since there’s only 9 days to go to the big race I thought you might be interested in an update. So far in training I’ve run 1 871kms since 1 Jan and worn through 3 new pairs of shoes. I feel great and can’t wait for the big day, but am pretty grumpy around sick people right now!

I am delighted to tell you that together we’ve pledged just over R90 000 for this wonderful cause and words cannot describe how grateful I am for the pledges and donations received so far – your generosity is amazing, thank you. If you haven’t yet made a pledge, it’s never too late. We’ve smashed through our original target and I am confident we can get past R150 000. I will account to all of you that donate on how we finally allocate the funds, and each of you will receive a S18A receipt in your name.

There are quite a number of people who have placed an additional amount on my achieving a silver medal, and I will gratefully accept that challenge. It’s not like I need any more motivation, but I am happy to do my bit.

I am still looking for a CORPORATE SPONSOR to buy the branding rights on Travelling Library. Your company will get full exposure from this fantastic initiative, as well as naming rights for the project. Please don’t be shy in forwarding this to anyone or any business you think might be interested – I’m calling all pockets on this project and so far the response has been amazing. So far we’ve had pretty good coverage via email, Comrades themselves and on Twitter (follow me on @dougbjones and we’re trending on #helpmehelpKYP).

EXCITING NEWS – FRENCH CHAMPAGNE TO GO – I have a bottle of Veuve Cliquot champagne to give away, as well as a limited edition Chivas Regal gift pack consisting of a bottle of the good stuff (12 YO) and some glasses. Each R100 gets you a ticket to the draw (R1 000 for corporates), and everyone who’s made a pledge to date is already entered!

More updates to follow. (Sorry, there’s no unsubscribe option, so you have to suffer through them!)

Doug

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

