Spar Ladies 10km Race report


Hi, well this weekend seemed to be a quite a few races on the go.

I was supporting at the Spar Ladies 10km race at RAC on Sunday and saw a few Bombers on the road.

Robyn and Gill ran a sterling race together breezing around the course after having run it earlier as a warm up. They were closely followed by Caron, who looked as though she wasn’t even running hard. My reason for supporting was to watch Bridget and Lindsay doing their 1st race together, ably accompanied by Lizle. I didn’t see any other Bombers, but if you did run, let us know how the race went – Mmm there were a few dragsters that could have passed for Mark and Denton, but I’m not sure.

The other big event for the weekend was the start of the Energade triathlon series and there was a large contingent of Bombers taking part. Terry did her first triathlon ever and managed really well. Also there was Roan, Doug, Tennille, Wynne, Genelle, Kate & Gareth (I think). Have I missed anyone else? There seems to be quite a bit of interest in the Ironman 70.3 triathlon in East London in January (spurred on my Roan’s positive influence, I’m sure), so we might have to have a few posts focusing on triathlons in the near future. Doug, what do you think about having an article on “How to change a flat tyre”?

To MJ and Elaine, have a good and safe cycle down to Durban this week.

See you all on the road soon and remember wear a white top in the mornings – it makes you more visible to cars.

2 Responses

  1. Some thoughts on how to change a flat tyre…

    Firstly, I don’t ever, ever, ever want to change one. Working your butt off to catch up to the guys that have gills instead of lungs and lurched from the water ahead of you is bad enough. To watch your hard work evaporate like so much compressed air from a blown tyre is just too much.

    But I don’t have to worry about it anymore, because a) I have a new bike that can dodge glass, splinters, etc and b) if perhaps I get one of those puncture things I will simply put the bike on my back and run to the end. It’s easier. And if I’m near the sea I might plant the bike in it!

  2. Well done all the runners (great pics) & Triathletes!!

    A very big BEST OF LUCK and have fun to Elaine and MJ – awsome stuff guys – you are amazing . Will be thinking of you all the way to Durbs and on race day . Tennille good luck too for the race !!

    I have to say this Sunday was certainly a different experience (have lived a sheltered life of running 🙂 )and I have LOTS & LOTS to learn, fix and improve on -overall it was fun !.

    Ok , I know “How to change a tyre is for me” – yes please 🙂 .

    Thanks for the company on Sunday – made a huge difference to making it fun!

Leave a Reply

