Congratulations Comrades!


Wow, what a race. I have to say that I was not so keen on missing out on this year’s race. Actually, I had all sort of thoughts like, “I could still get into a car and get to the start on time..” – even when I was out to dinner on Saturday night and I got a call from Lauren, I still thought: “I can still make it…”

Well, getting up for the start, I was reminded just how many people do this crazy race called Comrades – it took over 8 minutes for the start line to clear as the 14 thousand runners started. And if you think that family will see you if you wave at the camera, forget it there was no way I was able to see who anyone was. It was only later on in the day at the top of Field’s Hull that I was able to start spotting people, but no Bombers unfortunately. I was really miffed that they went over to an interview when Sue and Evan finished, seeing a Sue had a brilliant run, finishing in 38th position overall and 1st master.

I did have great fun tracking the Bombers online. The online tracking was fantastic and realtime. I was using my new smart phone (which I found is a bit smarter than I am) and driving down Main Road to CTM, I was constantly looking for the Drummond Update. Then I decided to phone people on the route I knew – but no-one answered, so I left messages (Lauren must think I’m mad cause she still hasn’t responded to any of my 6 messages) and eventually Robyn phoned back, concerned that Doug was not having a good race. I reassured her that everything was going to plan (which I still maintain it did). Bridget still thinks I am mad, what with my rushing between the kitchen where I was tiling, the laptop and the TV, shouting about who was doing well and they are going to go past this spot ….

All I can say is I’m so proud of you all – looking at the results, there are so many firsts, best and great runs. Even if it didn’t go quite the way you wanted, you did great!! Watching the TV coverage, I really though that Bruce Fordyce hit the nail on the head. He missed Silver by only 20 secs and then ended up in the Medical Tent on a drip (he said it wasn’t so bad cause he ran with two drips, Alan Robb on the left and Arnie Gheerts on the right). Bruce said that his friends were more put out that he was at missing out on Silver. Comrades never takes it all from you, it takes just enough from you that you want to come back again, he ssaid. And next year, he’ll be back to get that Silver. Learn from this race and apply the learnings!!

The question is who’ll be back with Bruce?

Race No

First Name

Last Name

Category

Club

Finish Time

Note

Mark

Kent

Master

Rand AC

10:52:04

Up PB (6)

Denton

Muil

Veteran

Rand AC

DNS

 

Mike

Askew

Open

Rand AC

DNF

 

Donald

Holshausen

Open

Rand AC

9:58:01

Up PB (7)

Mark

Giese

Open

Rand AC

9:23:42

Race PB (3)

Caron

Askew

Open

Rand AC

9:40:07

Race PB (2)

John

Glendinning

Open

Morningside Country Club

8:57:56

Race PB (2)

19894

Ali

Legwale

Veteran

Rand AC

9:13:12

Race PB (1)

Nicki

Ryder

Open

Rand AC

9:31:27

Race PB (1)

Etienne

De Chezelles

Veteran

Randburg Harriers

9:36:44

Race PB (1)

Sue

Harrisberg

Master

Rand AC

8:06:29

Race PB (12)

1st Master

38th Overall

David

Formby

Open

Rand AC

8:38:53

Up PB (7)

Brian

Sole

Veteran

Breakthru Midrand Striders

9:37:26

Top 1000 vet (6)

Lianne

Rey

Veteran

Rand AC

8:45:52

Up PB (5)

Kate

Rees

Open

Rand AC

8:38:47

80th Overall (4)

Dominique

Clogg

Open

Rand AC

9:16:08

Race PB (1)

Robin

Jones

Open

Rand AC

11:26:00

Race PB (1)

Lauren

Calenborne

Open

Westville Athletic Club

7:58:51

Up PB (8)
35th Overall

Doug

Jones

Open

Morningside Country Club

8:23:02

Up PB (4)

6007

Stephanie

Hurry

Open

Rand AC

8:55:04

Race PB (3)

Silvia

Caroto

Open

Bedfordview Athletics Club

8:20:22

Race PB (2)
5th Category
49th Overall

Evan

Mclean

Veteran

Rand AC

8:06:29

 

 
Well done and enjoy the rest.
 
Now Doug, the real race report is up to you….
 
And what is the next race ?? A triathlon in Bela Bela on Saturday 13th August? Have a look at the new race organised by the Ironman Crew – the 5150 Series. Entries open Tuesday 31 May 2011
 
 
Leave a Reply

