Running Road Safety


Hi Bombers

I trust everyone’s training is going well and you are all on track. Who will be joining me at the Pick ‘n Pay marathon this weekend?

Just a reminder, we are following the training program that Gill kindly drew up for us. This is loaded onto the website here . If you are unsure about what the session is, have a look.

On a slightly more serious note, below is an email from one of the Early Worm runners (the Early Worms are a ‘sister’ running group that runs out of the Planet Fitness Gym in Craighall Park). She explains how on the way to joining the morning run, she almost took out the group because they were running all over the road.

This is something that we also need to be fully aware of as I know the few times I’ve joined the Bombers this year we have also been guilty. Here are some simple guidelines to make sure that we are all safe:

  1. Run on the right side of the road – into the oncoming traffic (that way you can see what is coming)
  2. Keep to maximum 2 abreast (that way cars can still get past us)
  3. When a car comes to pass, make sure that everyone moves to the right of the road (if you move to the left, it makes it difficult for the car to pass and they are more likely to hit the smaller group on the left!!)
  4. Call out road obstacles such as potholes and rocks / bricks
  5. Wear a WHITE shirt. White is the most visible colour in the twilight when we run. (Red, blue, green, pink, black all look nice, but in the dark they blend in perfectly with the road – and you won’t be seen).
  6. When it is dark, wear a reflector belt with your WHITE top. (the more visible you make yourself, the better chance the cars will see you)

Please guys, lets all make sure that we are as safe as possible.

Cheers Iano

From: Janine Hayter
Sent: Wednesday, February 08, 2012 4:32 AM
To: Whittal, Gillian [JACZA]
Subject: Runners on the Road – Safety at all times

Hi guys
I received the following mail from one of the runners. Quite pertinent and we really want to avoid any tragedies. As much as we complain about bad drivers we also need to look at our conduct on the road and take responsibility for being clearly visible and running safely. It’s also winter now and darker on the runs.
I meant to send below mail out a few days ago, but apologise for not doing so sooner. Apparently again a complaint was made this morning about runners from the gym this morning being strung out over the road….. Let’s be safe.
Janine

I’m sorry to bother you with this, but I’m afraid that I don’t have all the Worms e-mail addresses otherwise I would send it directly, but thought that maybe you could forward it for me.

I’m getting increasingly concerned when I see the way that some of the groups of runners are behaving on the roads.

Despite it being a reasonably early time of day that we set out, we are not the only people using the road and we do not have the right to take up the whole road – both sides!!

This was highlighted this morning, when I came across the 05h15 group from the Craighall gym. Luckily I was driving at about 40ks an hour, but I came around a corner and there was a large-ish group (probably about 10 or 12) all across the road in one straight stripe, who then scattered to both sides of the road. It was actually quite dangerous. Had I been going faster or not watching, I might have gone straight into the group. Luckily this didn’t happen – thank goodness, but …………….

Please, guys and girls, we have to be aware that cars do have right of way. We should never run more than two – maximum three abreast, but certainly not right across both sides of the road, no matter what time of the day it is.

One Response

  1. Good to hear from South Africa.

    I kept running in the morning until last week. It is now too cold. I share my time between Poland (for work reasons) where temperature is -20 to -25°C and Provence where temperature is “only” -6°C but with wind blowing at 80k/hour. No surprise it is winter but I never had been so cold.

    I support all marathons, two oceans, comerade runners. Have great an safe runs.

    Etienne.

Leave a Reply

